Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Reunited

I know there needs to be Fiber in the Fiber Trek blog, but with this initial introduction to the world, I felt like a recap might be helpful for those interested just joining us. As Fraulein Maria says…”let’s start at the very beginning, a very good place to start” (I know you can hear Julie Andrews singing right now!).

DSC01678

The story really starts with white water rafting, northern Maine and a marriage.   I married Rob, a Baxter State Park Ranger, and moved to T3 Indian Purchase in 2010.  A year later I found myself working for an outfitter coordinating guest experiences in environmental education and outdoor skills. Part of my project development was an internship program, enter Tyler.  The first day that Tyler and I met we drove up the Penobscot River in the pouring rain. He was interested in interning in the rafting world and utilizing his media skill.  I figured I better show the river where most of our summer activities take place.  In our exploration of particular rapids etc…we both got soaking wet…sopping, soaking, wet. And if you know me at all…there is nothing better to talk about then the properties of wool when you are sopping, soaking wet and freezing.  I commented on Tyler entire cotton ensemble including socks and launched in to my “why wool is always better” speech.  It is not hard to make the leap on how Tyler and I came to talking about textiles and the possibility of pooling our talent to film a TV show dedicated to exemplifying the textile world and landscape of said world.  That was the first day we met.  Three years later, we are still committed even though the universe has thrown us a few beautiful curve balls. Our conversation last week consisted of some pretty technical planning but at the end of it, the basic gist was “we’re going for it”.  Tentativeness, fear, judgment, failure…ahhhh, they can take the sideline right now. We decided to play ball with hope, potential and belief.  And since Fraulein Maria is one of my hero’s I will leave with you her take on uncertainty: You can replace  (I with We and Me with US)

Oh, I must stop these doubts, all these worries If I don’t I just know I’ll turn back I must dream of the things I am seeking I am seeking the courage I lack

The courage to serve them with reliance Face my mistakes without defiance Show them I’m worthy And while I show them I’ll show me

So, let them bring on all their problems I’ll do better than my best I have confidence they’ll put me to the test But I’ll make them see I have confidence in me

It tells me all I trust I lead my heart to All I trust becomes my own I have confidence in confidence alone (Oh help!) I have confidence in confidence alone Besides which you see I have confidence in me!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Reunited

  1. Jennifer miller on said:

    You go Miss Sarah! Anything you do will be a success!!

Leave a Reply

