Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Chapters versus Rows

This Christmas holiday I received a number of books…this does not bode well for the knitter.  I am often posed with that dilemma, finding time in my day for both. I do not mean a few pages here and a few rows there, I mean the investment of time it takes to commit to a project or book, I want that kind of time.  So, in my latest novel, I blended my two passions. 

I am collector, connosieur, absolute fanatic for young adult fiction.  I rarely make my way in to adult fiction, dwelling on the prephiery of non-fiction and dabbling with fantasy.  I find adult fiction a little too…I don’t know… real, depressing, I honestly don’t know what. I have my odd go around with it. I read a few this year but really, when I want a good book you’ll find me in young adult. 

This in mind, over the past ten years I have searched for titles that deal with the fiber world both in young adult and children’s literature. This could include dyeing, spinning, weaving etc…Well, I got another book this year for my collection and I thought it would be fun to share with you a few of my favorites.  If you can spare a few rows or bobbins make some time this year to check out these titles.

Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry

A Curse Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce

East by Edith Pattou

And for the adult in us….

Daughter of the Forest by Julliet Marillier

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Chapters versus Rows

  1. Aren’t you glad you have a mom that buys you books and fiber arts products!!!

Leave a Reply

