Fiber Trek ™

A TV show Connecting Community, Craft, Fiber and Farms

Long Time Gone

 My partner/director/editor asked me tonight, very plainly, “what is the essence of Fiber Trek? What is it you want people to know, the mission?”  Hmmmmm?  Good question. 

It is at this moment when I would turn to my little black dog and say “Toto, I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore.”  Ya know, in Kansas (metaphorically) everything is pretty simple; we go to the farm. We look at the sheep. We look at the process. We look at the yarn.  Simple.  But alas, words like essence and mission, well them..them there are fighting words, tornado words, words that move us right up the funnel of thought and contemplation.  
Luckily, when the storm finally abates, typically if we have taken the time, we find ourselves exactly where we should be, home.  So, I am in the process of going home, tap, tap, tap, tappin’ away my ruby skeins, and putting some muscle in to my thoughts.  
So here is where I am right now, and I guess I have a little black dog to thank…

Fiber Trek conjures up for me words and while I am in the midst of the tornado, if you will, I will simply pass them along as such for your consideration.  Fiber Trek is about relationships. It’s about the network we find ourselves in when we chose to take up the needles, the spindle, and the lamb.  It is about beauty…good ol’ fashion eye candy…looking out on landscape, color, texture, and creativity.  Here in the funnel, I think there are traces of ecology, biology and natural history.  I feel the pull of cultural history, stories and the process…the process of death and birth, sickness and health, for better or worse. There are elements of spirit here, here in this windy mind of mine.  


I hope you stay with us as we ride out this storm, ride it right out of Kansas and back again..ride it to Chile, Norway, the Falklands and beyond all the meanwhile tapping our ruby skeins together knowing we are always home…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

